Skip to main content.

Payne Stewart Award recipients pose with award one more time

<p>Since 2013 during the early part of spring, PGA TOUR champions gather in metro Atlanta to compete in the Mitsubishi Electric Classic. This tournament is part of the PGA TOUR Champions golf tour and features professional golfers over the age of 50. This year, former Masters winners and several Payne Stewart Award recipients came out to TPC Sugarloaf to compete.</p>
<p>Five Payne Stewart Award recipients gathered around the award to pose with the statue that helps commemorate the legacy of Payne Stewart. Jay Haas, David Toms, Tom Watson, Brad Faxon and Kenny Perry all received the award because of their dedication to charity, character and sportsmanship on and off the course throughout their career.</p>
<p>The Payne Stewart Award was first awarded in 2000 after Payne Stewart, the 11-time PGA TOUR winner and World Golf Hall of Famer who passed away during the TOUR Championship in 1999. PGA TOUR greats Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus and Byron Nelson were the first three recipients of the award.</p>
<p>Tom Watson received the award in 2003, Haas in 2004, Faxon in 2005, Perry in 2009 and Toms in 2011.</p>
<p>Southern Company has presented the award every year since its inception which supports three charities, the Payne Stewart Award: The Stewart Family Foundation, the First Tee of the Ozarks and an organization of the recipient’s choice.</p>