Skip to main content.

EPRI honors 29 employees for technology innovation

For the 24th consecutive year, the Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI) has honored employees from across the Southern Company system with Technology Transfer Awards. These prestigious awards highlight leadership and excellence in collaborative research and development (R&D) initiatives for the energy industry.

EPRI recognized 29 employees for 2021 accomplishments in the generation, power delivery and utilization, and nuclear categories. Southern Company employees have received Technology Transfer Awards every year since the program’s inception.

“Southern Company’s leadership and collaboration with EPRI consistently delivers results that are shaping the future of energy for the benefit of our customers and communities,” said Stan Connally, executive vice president of Operations and CEO of Southern Company Services.

“These Technology Transfer Award winners provide critical thought leadership and technical acumen to address the energy industry’s toughest challenges and biggest opportunities. Their work is instrumental in delivering solutions that help us make, move and sell energy better,” said Connally, who serves as chair of EPRI’s board of directors.

Southern Company’s award-winning projects focused on a range of industry issues and technologies, including transportation electrification, conservation of utility company pollinator habitats, advanced heat pumps, liquid-fueled molten salt reactor technology, high-altitude electromagnetic pulse, solar-plus-battery energy storage, battery storage fire safety and more.

The winners are:

Generation Sector – Josh Barron, Charles Boohaker, Travis Hicks, Will Hobbs and Justin Walters (Southern Company Services)

EPRI Technology Transfer Award Generation

(From Top, L-R) Josh Barron, Charles Boohaker, Travis Hicks, Will Hobbs, Justin Walters


Power Delivery and Utilization Sector – Larry Butts, Jim Campbell, Chase Cortner, Joe Drumm, Eamon Hogg, John Holmes, Claire Ike, Stephen Kelley, Brittany McBride, Jesalyn McCurry, Rey Ramos, Brad Stephenson, Randall Watkins, Ted Warren, Al Whitley, Glenn Wilson and Pradeep Vitta (Southern Company Services)

EPRI Technology Transfer Award Power Delivery & Utilization

(From Top, L-R) Larry Butts, Pradeep Vitta, Chase Cortner, Jesalyn McCurry, Eamon Hogg, Joe Drumm, Claire Ike, Stephen Kelley, Brittany McBride, Rey Ramos, John Holmes, Ted Warren, Brad Stephenson, Glenn Wilson, Randall Watkins, Al Whitley, Jim Campbell


Nuclear Sector –Amir Afzali, Brandon Chisholm and Lauren Lathem (Southern Company Services); Gary Lofthus, Ken Lowery, DeLisa Pournaras and Corey Thomas (Southern Nuclear)

EPRI Technology Transfer Award Nuclear

(From Top, L-R) Amir Afzali, Brandon Chisholm, DeLisa Pournaras, Gary Lofthus, Lauren Lathem, Ken Lowery, Corey Thom


Southern Company’s commitment to innovation includes a more than 50-year-old R&D organization that provides industry-leading technology development for energy production, delivery and use. By collaborating with organizations, like EPRI and the U.S. Department of Energy, Southern Company’s research is focused on improving the lives of customers and facilitating the transition to a net-zero energy future.

Award recipients are being honored in in-person and virtual ceremonies in each respective research sector this spring.