Skip to main content.

Tom Fanning receives prestigious Bobby Jones Award from Scouting

CEO Tom Fanning is shown with CEO of Atlanta Area Council, Scouting Tracy Techau (left) and Craig Gunkel (right), CEO of Iconex and chairman/MC of the 2021 Peach of an Athlete Role Model Banquet.

Southern Company Chairman, President and CEO Tom Fanning was honored with the Bobby Jones Award at the 2021 Peach of an Athlete Role Model Banquet on June 8 at Truist Park.

The banquet honors community leaders and athletes that hold the same values as Scouting -- responsible citizenship and outstanding character -- with proceeds benefiting the Atlanta Area Council.

Bobby Jones was a legendary golfer and Atlanta native whose home course was East Lake Golf Club where The TOUR Championship, presented by Southern Company, is played each year. After his golfing career, Jones served as a member of the Southern Company Board of Directors from 1948 to 1971, the longest tenure of any board member.

The Bobby Jones Award is the most prestigious award given to a person in Georgia whose life and career exemplify Scouting’s values. The award honors Jones who won golf’s Grand Slam in 1930 at the age of 28 and became an authentic American "tickertape" hero. Jones is remembered for his outstanding character, in victory and in adversity.

“It is such an honor to be presented an award named for Bobby Jones – someone who, just like the Boy Scouts of America – dedicated his life to personifying strong moral character,” Fanning said.

Georgia Power’s retired Chairman, President and CEO Paul Bowers provided the congratulatory remarks on behalf of all Southern Company employees via video.

Peach of an Athlete Role Model Banquet

The night’s gala event raised more than $300,000 which will be used to pay scholarships and pay for programs of underprivileged boys and girls in the Atlanta Area who otherwise could not afford to participate in Scouting.

Past recipients of the Bobby Jones Award include Pres. George Bush, Ambassador Andrew Young, Dan Reeves, U.S. Sen. Sam Nunn, Ted Turner, Billy Payne, Hank Aaron and David Ratcliffe.